Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that woven baskets which were believed to be palean were not quite palean based on the evidences given in the argument is not entirely

convincing since it ignores certain factors which might be crucial in determining the origin of a certain woven basket. The argument also states that a basket with similar features was found across the brim river which is believed to be inaccessible due to the deep and broad nature of the river and henceforth the baskets are

not originated from the paean village. However , in order to estimate the arguments conclusion , the given evidence should be carefully analysed.

First and foremost , the brim river which is considered to be deep and broad in nature could have been slightly different or perhaps as shallow

as it is considered deep as the information is given to the audience in present whereas the prehistoric times of the village are not taken into consideration.

Additionally , the weather changes and the climatic conditions would have been much different making the river accessible to the people of the village. The river could have been flowing in a different direction which wouldn’t have caused an obstacle for the villagers to travel.

Secondly , even if the river’s characteristics were similar as it today , the argument states that as no palean boats were found nearby the

villagers must have not crossed the river. This evidence is pretty lopsided as it does not take into consideration the different means of transport the villagers might be using as there is no extensive information given as to how the villagers were travelling in the ancient times. Furthermore, the boats might have been made in lithos and hence

no paean boats were to be found or might have been perished overtime and hence nowhere to be found.

In addition , there are several factors which could be taken into consideration . For instance , the basket could have been swayed by the river’s flow to the other side of

the river and hence found in the lithos region . Another possibility could have been that an individual could have travelled to paean from lithos or vice-versa and the hence the

basket was spotted elsewhere . Another major loophole in the argument could be that the ‘palean baskets’ wouldn’t have been palean at all as it is stated that it was found in the vicinity of Palea .

Consequently , the argument’s claims that as the river couldn’t be accessed and as the basket was found in lithos , the palean baskets were not quite palean is baseless

as the evidence could have been more warranted such as there was no way of interconnecting the two villages except for the river which was the same as it is today with due study and research. Henceforth , the argument is rife with loopholes and gaps which make it unwarranted .