Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The above argument appears fallible as it is based on a number of unwarranted assumptions, which if proved otherwise, will seriously undermine the claims made. Further, the dearth of credible data to corroborate the stated reasons, renders the argument suspect.

To begin with, the manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants does not elucidate by what amount has the butter been replaced by margarine. If the replacement is negligibly small, then it might be far from noticeable by the customers. Hence, in this case the assumption that 98 out of 100 are ‘happy’ with the change does not hold good, since people are finding little or no difference in the items whatsoever. Conversely, it is likely that people are noting a slight difference in taste, but are not complaining because of a possible offset in that case, say, a reduction in the costs for instance. Here too, it is not because the customers are happy, but because the change in taste has been compensated by the cost/tax reduction, or through free takeaways, etc. Since the manager fails to shed light on these other possibilities, or to disprove such occurrences, the assumption that the change is making the customers happy stands inconclusive.

Furthermore, the manager fails to elaborate if the number of customers has been affected at all. The assumption is that, because only 2% of the people are complaining, 98% must be happy with the change. However, the manager does not take into account whether the restaurants have been infact, loosing customers. It is not lucid in the argument, whether the same number of people are visiting the restaurants after the change. In case that number is diminishing, it is implicit that people are not ‘happy’ with the change. Because percentages can be ambiguous, one cannot be sure unless the exact figures of customers are provided.

Lastly, the manager assumes that because ‘a number of’ customers do not complain when given margarine instead of butter, they must either be unable to differentiate between the two, or use the same term for both. However, the manager fails to illustrate the condition for the customers who do complain against this. It is possible that the number of customers who complain, far exceeds the number that does not. Additionaly, the customers might simply not complain out of propriety, or their own integrity. They might simply wish to avoid any uncomfortable situations with the staff that might arise if they complain. That does not imply they are confused between the two commodities. Hence, if situations like these are verified through some evidence, the argument will substantially loose credibility.

In essence, the manager overlooks certain key factors that might have caused the perceived accommodation of margarine instead of butter, by the customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants. The manager fails to elucidate whether the replacement of butter with margarine, is substantial enough to be noticeable by the consumers. The manager also appears quite equivocal regarding the percentages of customers mentioned in the argument. Because percentages do not reveal the full picture, the exact numbers of the customers still visiting the restaurants after the replacement, could have been the actual indicator of the acceptance level of margarine. Further, the assumption that lesser complains imply more acceptance of margarine is fallacious in several ways. In short, had the argument provided enough evidence to nullify these doubts, the claims made by the manager would have appeared more cogent.