1.As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The ability of thinking is determined by the breadth and depth of our thoughts. Whether or not technology prevents people from solving problems independently should be judged by the change of human’s thoughts. Hence, some people believe that our thinking ability is damaged with the development of technology. However, without the increase of our thinking ability, technology cannot develop so rapidly that it helps us to solve more problems.

On the first place, some abilities of humans are deteriorating due to the high speed of development of technology. After the invention of calculator, the ability of calculating has decreased significantly. Similarly, the utilization of electronic devices, which can help us to remember important tasks and the type quickly, reduces our ability of remembering and writing. Furthermore, more elaborate games and entertainment simultaneously make more people addicted to them and lose the ability of controlling themselves.

However, thanks to technology, some part of our thinking abilities enhance correspondingly. Technology, which lowers our calculation and memory ability, deepens and broadens our thinking scope. On the one hand, in daily life, technology can provide us more space for thinking. With the development of material science, architectures could design more exquisite and elaborate con structures. Without the printing press, thoughts of philosophers cannot be distributed and discussed so fast. On the other hand, in scientific research, technology precipitates the efficiency and speed of thinking. For instance, high-speed computers accelerates the proof of some hypothesis with their millions of times calculation per second. With this quick way to check hypothesis no matter whether it is correct, people will think more on the results of calculation. Without this convenient way, maybe we would have spent thousands of years to test a hypothesis rather than several seconds.

Another issue we need to discuss is what thinking abilities we should prevent from losing though technology is strengthening others. Logical thinking such as basic calculation and deduction abilities should be kept even if some functions of technology can substitutes them. The ability of analyzing problems cannot be weaken by technology either. Those abilities are most fundamental ones we need to think logically and solve problems properly. Humans would die out if those abilities are deteriorated by technology.

In conclusion, while some inventions and technologies weaken some of our thinking abilities, the scope of thoughts also enlarged by them. Technology should be treated critically rather than approved or refused absolutely.