92

Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

The statement claims that ability to explicate the knowledge should be the core of evaluating a student’s academic performance rather than the understanding the fact itself. To communicate with what one has learned is very helpful in terms of education and practice. It helps students to study more deeply and use what education taught them practically. Yet, despite its benefits, to the ability to an explanation is not the appropriate criterion for the evaluation for students. It is closely related but a separate ability from what many academic courses aim to teach. Moreover, the meaning of ‘illustrate’ depends on who is the audience of the illustration.

To understand the knowledge and to explain it to others are closely related. Students can get familiar with the course materials by having group study sessions with other students. In the process of mutual teaching, not only they are more motivated by the responsibility to their friends, but also, they can understand the knowledge more clearly by organizing it into the deliverable form that can help others to understand as themselves did. In addition, to illustrate is a very important skill in nowadays. Since society today is fractured into various specialized fields, people from another field needs detailed explication to construe what students are saying about. For example, consider an architect who is presenting his scheme of a corporation headquarter building in front of its board whose members would know a lot of management or manufacturing but not much about the construction of buildings. He cannot tout his plan efficiently if he cannot explain his idea clearly although he is able to paint, understand, and even memorize his idea in his mind.

However, with all the boons and importance of the illustration education, it is not proper to select it as the kernel of the appraisal in education given the subject who evaluate the performances of students. It requires its own class for it one dedicated only to the communication or presentation skills. Unlike in group study session with peers who are not completely understood the course materials or people from different fields, forms of assessment of an academic course is for people who already know about the ideas even in presentation. For example, in the test, the lecturer or professor would not expect his or her student to elaborate about quantum mechanics in a vernacular way. Series of the equation and few sentences to show the definitions of the variable would work. Even if the educator uses the illustrative assessments, the audiences including the peer students are supposed to know the idea that is being presented. From the eye of a newcomer to the field, what is an excellent presentation for the professor, for example, the proof of Fermat’s last theorem, one of the most incredible intellectual performances in modern mathematics, would look like abstract or even totally inscrutable, and full of jargons. Besides, it would be very rare that students have to let novices to know about advanced mathematics with colloquial languages. In short, educationally and practically, the explanation standard is not necessary.

The reasoning above shows that communication with the wisdom instructed into students mind through class is important, but it is not the golden standard of the academic evaluation. It benefits students a lot, but making it the essential part of the evaluation would be not necessary given the context that the evaluation is held. The more course materials deal with an advanced theme, the abstracter the explication will be - and that is the point of the advanced theme. To require them to illustrate it into an understandable form to the ordinary layperson is not only overwhelming but also impractical. Educators should educate their students and see them how they do. It is communication educators’ job to check that how do they communicate to others with the knowledge they have in their mind.