In the age of television, reading books is not as important as it once was. People can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading books.

The speaker asserts that people can learn as much by watching television as they can by reading. In addition to this, the speaker states reading books is not as important as it once was. I concede that television or videos can be used for learning, but not in every aspect of learning. In most respects these newer media serves as a poor substitute for book.

Admittedly, using television for learning has certain benefits over reading books. For example: while giving a presentation in your company about the quarter one sales of all the products, where you have to present temporal and spatial data and convey your statistical analysis to the executives. Presenting them through a short video would convey your information easily as compared to reading just reading out to them. The journalist also face a hard time these days to write and express about certain events that they cover for example: a ballet dance or any classical dance form where body language and gestures play an important role, would serve best when watched on television rather then reading about it.

However, speaker overlooks several aspects where learning through books is more pragmatic and suitable. A book is easy to carry, does not break, has no side effects on excessive reading, requires no charging or connection, you can refer back as and when you want etc. Where as viewing television for a longer time affects our eyesight, rendering our eyes to stress and even headache. The speaker is ignoring the media industry, which is believed by many to be controlled by the elites of the nation or government. Not ignoring the fact that, media industry, whose sole purpose is to make business and earn profits, reports filtered news and events on their channels.

A final argument where learning through books standout way ahead of learning through television sets, is how our brain perceive and interprets when we read something compared with when we see a video. For example: a paragraph from the New York Times or The Economist that your are reading to improve your reading abilities for reading comprehension for GRE exam, you cannot fulfill your purpose by watching a video of the news as you need to pay more attention to words used and understand their usage in the sentence. And this is what defines true learning, where you read by yourself, create image in your own understanding and you will remember it if you do this in a right way.

I would like to conclude this by stating that television and videos is a better way to keep one updated with the current affairs and also in teaching of arts students that involve moving imagery. However through books one can learn better and which can never be replaced by televisions or videos. In all we should use both the sources available as per our requirement, side by side, and gain the most out of it.