All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Global exposure to any student is of far more value than one could guess. It is mostly because one gets to learn several new things from different cultures. It inspires one to deeply understand the origins of culture. This provides insights on why the existing rituals are the way they are. Apart from cultures, an exposure to several different learning environments enables a student to introspect the flaws in oneself's methods of learning. This are few of several benefits, that any student willing to study abroad for at least one semester, will get in return for his efforts.

To begin with, apart from getting to know about different cultures, studying away from home helps one in developing cooperation skills. Students have mostly lived in comforts of their society, and they depend on it in more ways than they realise. This sudden change in surrounding and the need to be completely independent teaches various aspects of life, the importance of people around us and how they affect our life. Take for an example, a competitive student from United States who recently got exchanged with an Asian student will have to adjust with his communication skills, his gestures and his attitude towards the community as well.

Moreover, stepping out of the education system that you have acquiesced since childhood, enables you to understand the flaws these systems might have, or you may discover new techniques of learning, or it may help you broaden your vision. One's perspective towards learning itself is enhanced. Take for an example, the education system in India is far more trite than United States, in India, research work, even at universities, is of far less importance than it is in United States, due to which the Indian students have gone used-to with their traditional system of questions and answers based evaluation.

Furthermore, different countries have different level of advancement in their curriculum. Japan and China may be teaching far more latest programs as compared to India or United States. Students exposed to such advancement bring home unorthodox knowledge with them.

Conversely, one can say that if students are pursuing localised programs, studying language or culture than the need to visit any foreign country for almost half a year will only waste their money and not to mention precious time. This is correct, not all students are always interested in leaving their home, for several reasons, they might not be able to bear the expenses or the climate change, or the foreign food may not suit them. If one is determined to only serve his country, than overseas experience is of least importance.

Conclusively, a global exposure helps in many ways, but nothing should ever be forced in systems of education, imposing restrictions only hinders the ability to acquire knowledge. It should be made clear to students that why a visit abroad is of utmost importance then they should be given choice. It should be the students decision, to go overseas or to stay home.