All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Employees make up the backbone of a company. They are the ones that come into work everyday to keep the company running. They know the ins and outs of their own position and recognized when work is not being done as efficiently as possible. Being able to listen to their own employees feed back is crucial for a company to run more efficiently.

I recently was involved in a meeting at my work place where the topic of discussion was how to run our restraint more efficiently. In this meeting employees went around discussing the places in out company that we handle strongly and the places we need some more work on. Their were multiple ideas and suggestions on how to go about fixing the issues we were facing. The management team listed to all of the recommendations and began to start implementing them. Not long after this meeting out company began to start working more smoothly. I believe this was a direct result from the meeting that was held.

The company I work for could have spent unnecessary money on hiring an outside consultant to offer ways for out company to work more efficiently. However, they stuck to their backbone and got the job done efficiently.