In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Leadership is vital for stability and success in any field.It is the quality which is possessed by only few individuals. Cases in which a firm or government is overthrown or brought down due to lack of leadership skills displayed are many. The author's claim that in any field be it business, politics, education those in power should be required to step down after 5 years seems to consider changes will always bring postive impacts but this is very simplistic in nature and it fails to take into account the disadvantages or disasters it will lead to.

Let us consider the case of business, the decisions and power of the company is with CEO,CTO and others. They are inturn accountable for their shareholders. People in power need to understand the business and interact with their employee and understand the current technologies and market trends and then work on bringing a new technology or a new product and establish themselves in the society and earn the trusts of the people. So if every 5 years people in power are changed it is possible that due to egoistic clashes the new leaders may dissolve the previous reforms/products introduced by previous leaders and it may even lead to disastrous consequences of losing their market. So, the overall efforts which the company invested in the idea may become futile.

On the other hand, in case of education it may be fruitful in replacing those in power mainly because the approaches of modern education is changing so those in power for long term tend to lack skills or awareness of mindset of the students and thereby fail to bring in reforms which will promote more pragmatic way of approach to education rather than normal bookish study.

Finally, in case of government where corrupt practices are pretty high in ratio compared to other fields, if there is restriction for people to step down after 5 years, then this will conspicuously make the leaders to involve in bribery and will establish a mindset of looting as much money as they can when they are in power. Even Though there should be restriction on the number of years ,because progress and growth of nation depends on the more dynamic leaders it comes across but 5 years seems to too short in case of government officials.

To conclude, change is inevitable and much needed to bring in the dynamism of varied thoughts, it is also mandatory that current leaders should be given a much longer time frame more than 5 years to bring in reforms or new strategies and make them fruitful for the people.