In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic claims that in any fields, people will not be able to make a momentous contribution unless they have been greatly influenced by the past accomplishments. Nobody will deny the importance of the past work though some accomplishments result from accidental discovery, which however will be missed out without the knowledge within the field. So, I completely agree with the claim.

Momentous achievements result from the accretion of past work. Newton stressed the importance of precious work and explained his achievements: “if I have been able to see further, it was only because I stood on the shoulders of giants.” Imagine a new field in which nobody has ever involved yet. With this field, there are no prior knowledge or theories for scholars to build upon. They have to conduct many trials to test all kinds of theories. Hopefully, some mighty results would occur. Look at the process, all the accumulated advancements owing to the trials provide the essential foundation for successors to refer to. In other words, achievements, by nature, are the outcomes of accumulated work of the past. Without it, symbolic attainments are impossible.

Furthermore, past achievements promote the possibility of further great achievements within a field. In the field of physic science, Isaac Newton was greatly influenced by the Italian natural philosopher, Galileo, and the German astronomer, Kepler. He unified their theory of falling bodies and laws of planetary motion respectively and published his laws of motion and universe gravitation in The Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy in 1687. Moreover, not only did Newton discover Gravity, but also his work has paved the way for the possible development of the field. Building upon Newton’s work, Albert Einstein developed a whole new idea about Gravity—The General Theory of Relativity—which explains a number of phenomena that would otherwise violate Newton’s theory. As we can see, prior accomplishments can tremendously bolster the following contributions.

Admittedly, some significant contributions are results of accidental discovery. Yet, one is not able to discover anything crucial without being first equipped with the knowledge in the field. For example, in the field of Medical science, Penicillin was discovered accidently by Alexander Fleming in 1928. In august, he came back from vacation and noticed that in the glass culture dish that he had left out, some strange fungus had killed all the surrounding bacteria in the culture. From then on, medical history has never been the same. This significant discovery is accidental. Nonetheless, if Fleming had not been one in the field, he would not have realized the changes in the dish. Consequently, Penicillin would not be discovered by him. Thus, even for unplanned discoveries, they are by no means possible without past work.

In conclusion, the substantial impact the past achievements have on later-on significant contribution is indisputable. Though some achievements are accidental, they are impossible without being first impacted by the past work in the field. Hence, the claim is totally reasonable.