In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The argument ascertaining that strong influence is required to make a significant contribution is impromptu when we walk past with history keeping alongside with our rational thinking. There were several contributions made by many who were influenced but some significant contributions which serve humanity might outweigh in several aspects. Certain influence of past may result on prejudiced notion or flummoxed views which may not achieve significant contributions as claimed. Much of the world we live marked away from the horse-and-buggy generation is ramifications of people who challenged the past notion and antithetical to the accepted 'right' which supposed to influence them in order to be significant.

To illustrate, Galileo though a strong catholic with his beliefs, he challenged and proposed helio-centric theory which postulated against the accepted system of earth being center and all planets revolving around it. Has he been influenced and accepted the established order by the prevalent, he would have been benighted to his own thought process which was radical enough to raise new school of thought and marking a progress, years later, without which we would be living in a world which still proclaimed that earth being center. Such strong influnces might develop myopic thought process which would hamper the contribution that can be considered as significant.

Though some influence can be cogent to seed the rational thought process, it may become complacent in its own world. Have Elon Musk, Chief of Tesla which makes revolutionary cars, been influenced with the three century old thought process of internal combustion engines and automobiles, he would be making just another car; though he accepted that commutation is primary freedom and meant be for betterment of the humanity, it need not come at a cost. He went on being rebel by influencing the masses and eventually the tried-and-tested-and-dropped automakers by making the impossible as possible with electric cars, which was considered alien for the complacent automakers of the past; this marked a significant era in automobile industry. He radically revolutionized the cars we drive, and at times they drive, today for us. Such cross pollination of ideas and thought process is made by someone who have never been influenced or into automobiles but went on marking a significant change in automobile industry.

Some may still argue that significant achievement are made by the one who have been influenced within, say, significant computer programs alike VB been evolved by the influence of C programming of Dennis Ritche - it need to be. Though what Dennis created was considered as fundamental and landmark in computer programming, but much of another landmark of contributions made by Python into computing has never followed or influenced by its significant previous influencer, C programming. You may disagree and say that Nelson Mandela fought decades for inequality being influenced to the racial inequality moments and went on to achieving as first president of south africa, but George Washington went on uniting the radical race broken disparate America with Jefferson under the title of United States of America without any influence of the past on inequality which marked a significant progress in inequality without any influence of the past.

Significant contributions continue to happen irrespective of the influence of the past in their own world. Much of world is made and progressed by the rebels who went on un-accepting the accepted or called as 'achieved' of the past.