In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The statement links the significant achievements with experiences. As the great scientist, Isaac Newton, once put: “If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulder of the giant.” The metaphor means that it is easier to discover base on the previous discoveries. But it seems that this concept can not be applied universally on different fields such as art field.

In the scientific field, most of the innovation come from the experiences. Base on the established theory, scientists are able to pose new hypothesis from the existing knowledge and, by conducting the experiment, we can either prove the hypothesis or reject it and ultimately increase our bank of experience. The process is slow but firm. Over time, by accumulating the experiences little by little, surely some important breakthroughs will happen. All of the scientists are following this path.

Some people may argue that the path of the science making innovation is changing because we are heralded into a new era of inter-discipline science. Inter-discipline science no longer addresses the development of the conventional field, but the combination of wide varieties of fields, such as Artificial intelligent, Robotic, Fin-tech, and so on. Take Fin-tech for example, it requires a scientist with knowledge of not only computer science and statistics but also finance and economy. By this cross-linking in different technology, we are able to make a breakthrough without past achievements. Nevertheless, this concept is arbitrary because it is still using the foundations of previous scientific achievements. Thus, the innovative process of inter-discipline science is still following the same way.

However, the procedure seems different in the fields other than science. Fields such as arts, there are myriad examples show that unprecedented achievements can be realized without experience basement. The evaluation of the art field may not be the same as in the science, it is decided by its audiences. For example, in 18 centuries, lots of musicians implemented new techniques, used various kinds of instruments or based on innovative tempo theory in order to create brand new music atmosphere for the audience. However, only a few of them succeed. On the other hand, one of the greatest musician, Beethoven, actually didn’t make any innovative approach, but exploited the existent techniques and pushed it to the limit. In the arts field, as a kind of entertainment, the primary issue is to entertain the audiences.

To sum up, it is important for science field to make a significant contribution on the basis of previous achievement, while for art field it is not. Because the evaluations for each of them are on different standards. For the science that is decided by how much innovative it is, but for the arts that are depended on the audiences. Thus, there are more chances for scientists to make contributions by following their predecessor, but that is generally not the case in terms of the arts.