In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A glance at the greatest achievements made by human in history sheds light on a question that has long being debated, that is, whether the preceeding achievements are indispensable to making new ones. Some contend that learning from predeccesors is a must; however, as long as I am concerned, despite a wealth of examples showing younger generations being inspired by older ones, in some certain fields the thought and ideas of some true pioneers are really the brainchild of their own intellectual activities.

Foremost, it is undeniable that past achievements and discoveries lay the bedrocks for future breakthroughs, and this is especially true in scientific fields. It is no exaggeration to say that no new discoveries could be made in science without consulting other\'s work. A genious he might be, Einstein was also deeply affected and inspired by several scientists like Dirac in his discovery of the theory of relativity. Individual researchers can only understand a tiny proportion of the nature, and it is the accumulation of this increment in knowledge that brodens our understanding of the world as a whole. Occasionally, huge discoveries may be made and brand new theories formed, but this is also based on the work of preceeding achievements.

While science is a public endeavor involving the scientific community around the world, in many more private creating processes like literature, the influence of past peers is also conspicuous. Amily Bronte, for instance, is one of the most renowned novelists of all time in the world, and she excelled as a female writer in an era mostly dominated by males. That her style was so idiosyncratic makes it unlikely that she had the impact of other writers. Nonetheless, in a time when education was a prerogative for men, Bronte learned reading and writing in her father\'s private library, and only by reading the many masterpiece of other writers can she be a thoughtful and skillful novelist as well.

But there are also some symbolistic genious that realised great achievements without relying on that of others. Mozart compsed his first piece of music before he received any systematic musical training, which is a clear manifestation of his talent. Many other artists, like Da Vinci or Piccaso, created a totally new genre that people had never seen before. It is their unique innovation without being restricted by existing aesthetic judgements that made them the pioneers.

Due to aforementioned ground, in order to contribute significantly to a field, most of the time one has to bear the influence of past achievements, especially in scientific research. In other areas, on the contrary, there have been many talented pioneers pushing the field forward by their original thoughts and ideas.