To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Effective leaders had to have ethical and moral standards, because this is the quality which people expect in leaders. But, it is not always possible for any leader to exercise this morals. Life in reality is much more complex to get along side this standards.

Firstly, public issues are rife with dilemma. It is not always possible to judiciously arbiter this cases. Some one somewhere is always unhappy with this decisions. Take for example, the sentences for criminals, victims and their families demand the punishments of highest degree but courts have to consider the slightest chance of criminal's fading incorrigibility due to which they sentence them to correction facilities. However, exercising ethical punishments in such situation might prove exemplary for other with like minded thinking resulting in less crimes.

Secondly, ideology is an abstract concept. Practical implementations of such morals is difficult. It is very hard to judge what is correct and what is not in several circumstances. Thus in such circumstances following what morals suggest might lead to further exacerbation of the situation. Take for example, punishing an engineer for passing a flawed design which resulted in a bridge collapsing, might destroy his whole life. That engineer might have had several compelling reasons to pass that design, economic constraints, space and time constraints and so on. But, an ethical approach would imply that he should be severely chastised. For what he has done might have taken many lives. Such problems make it very difficult for any leader to follow ethical and moral values.

Thirdly, a good leader will always do what is right for the benefit of his people, independent of correctness of situation. Take for example, the policies of trump government in crushing the number of immigrants living in United States. In Contrast, a lack in these standards is the defining factor during the time of elections. The candidate with proven track of high moral typically gathers more votes.

Conclusively,There are several reasons for lack of ethics and morals concluding in distrust from the people. But, at the end what matter is the impact that any leader creates via his services to the public.