The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

The world that we live in has evolved from a cloud of gas and molten rocks to the blue planet, thriving with life, that it is today. Life, as we know it, is a result of billions of years of perfection of natural phenomenon, that by no means is a simple process. What better way to come up with inspirational new ideas than to observe our diverse and complex world, and build upon what nature has already perfected?

Some of the most important innovations of our time are a result of mimicking nature. One of the most significant examples is the aircraft invented by the Wright brothers who took inspiration from the wings of bird. By carefully observing how birds use their wings to generate lift, they were able to design an aircraft based on the same principles. Several other inventions such as velcro and kevlar are also a built upon our observation of nature. This only goes to show that just looking at our surroundings in a different light can spark wonderful ideas.

In addition to engineering, some of the greatest breakthroughs in the field of artificial intelligence (AI) are based on replicating the process by which the brain functions. Neural networks, that are designed similar to neurons in the brain, are the reason for state of the art results in image recognition, language translation, speech recognition, etc. While trying to design artificially intelligent machines, it is evident that evolution has done a spectacular job designing our brain and the best way forward is to understand how the brain works.

Nature has left its mark on many fields other that science and technology. Numerous fighting styles in kung fu, which is considered to be one of the best martial art forms, are based on the postures of animals. These forms, such as the tiger, snake and crane represent ferocity, speed, and balance which are essential traits for a martial artist. Several painters, artists, and musicians find inspiration in nature and their surroundings. The beauty that we find in this comples world of ours is unparalleled and have led to some of the most awe-inspiring works of art.

We can not only innovate, but also gain true wisdom by understanding our surroundings. We have progressed from a time of believing that the earth was flat to understanding the origins of our universe. Breakthroughs in physics, from Archimedes’ principle to String theory and Quantum physics are a result of careful observation of our surrounding. This has allowed us to gain deeper understanding into how our universe works and why things are the way they are.

Some of the greatest ideas have been born because people were passionate in understanding how the world works. Humans are a resultant of millions of years of evolution, and it is only reasonable to believe that our planet, which gave rise to mankind, is infinitely more complex than we can possibly imagine. Our world is an excellent source of motivation and ideas through which any field, be it arts, science or technology, can definetely prosper.