The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership in government sectors, businesses, and most other fields requires a strong sense of cooperation among the groups. I agree with the idea that cooperation is the best way to prepare young people for leadership roles. Firstly, to be an effective leader in these fields, one will have to learn to work and cooperate with others who may disagree with their views. In addition, the ability to inspire peers and subordinates to work towards a common goal is a fundamental aspect of cooperation. Finally, although competition is important as leaders need to deal with competing leaders and negative external influences, the teachings of cooperation and comraderie are of primary importance. I will further elaborate on these three points.

To start off, the ability to work together with others in a team is crucial in leadership. A leader must know how to cooperate with others before they begin to lead a team. For instance, it is no coincidence that most elite basketball coaches have played competitive basketball and were the most cooperative players on their teams. The ideal coach will have years of experience cooperating with other like-minded basketball players on the court, learning about how certain players and personalities tick, and thus using the right words to connect with them. Great basketball coaches are the leaders in their team and they are able to lead because of their experience in working with team dynamics and cooperation within a team.

Moving on to the idea of inspiration, influential leaders are often ones that can inspire their group into working towards the same goal. Leaders who understand what it takes for workers to cooperate are the ones who are the most influential and inspiring. Take, for one, my manager at work in a team of economists. Gino, a well-spoken, kind, and understanding leader, knows exactly what to say to inspire our team to work towards our common goals. If our tasks seem meaningless at the time, he will come talk to us, explaining how our seemingly mundane tasks fit into the grand economic picture at the end of the day. The way that he inspires cooperation in a team of workers motivates us to work and produce high quality work for society.

Finally, competition is important. Competitive drive is what motivates a lot of people to work harder and achieve more in their lives and for society. However, for a leader, I would argue that competitiveness is not as important as the ability to cooperate. For example, take a leader in industry, say a manufacturing firm, that is extremely focused on competing with the other rivals in their sector. The so called 'leader' may push their employees too hard in the sense of competition, forcing them to work overtime and be tired and demotivated to contribute. Ultimately, this does not fare well for society. Cooperation is more important in this aspect of retaining motivation.

To conclude, it is crucial to keep these points in mind: 1. Our future leaders will have to learn to work with others, 2. Leaders need to learn to inspire peers to cooperate, 3. Although competition is important as leaders will need to deal with competing leaders, it is not the best way to motivate employees to contribute to society. All in all, instilling a sense of cooperation is crucial to prepare young people for leadership