The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Cooperation means understanding others prospective and taking every feedback positively.Leader can start company by competitive nature but only with cooperation it will lead to succeed.

Competition is inbuilt quality for every individual. Every person compete with other in terms of work, high rank or etc. So its not the thing that can be instilled. Although, importance of competitive nature is irrefutable. But when it becomes extreme, can cause only destruction. Let us take example of Adolf Hitler. Because of his extreme competitive nature he made people suffer. So, competitiveness can get you short-living happiness but at the end it can cause only destruction.

On the other hand, cooperation is difficult to built and it can lead one to success. Leader must have both cooperative and competitive quality for achieving goal. Lets consider example of Bill Gates. He started Microsoft because of the competition but his cooperation with employees made him successful.

At the conclusion, I support the claim made in the argument that the best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them sense of cooperation.We also need competition in limited manner.