The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A defining character of human is that how they balance cooperation and competition. In the first glance, cooperation seems like a more positive word than competition, which always gives us stress and anxiety. However, due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general arguement on this iusse. I am, personally, to a great extent against the statement above for the following reasons.

For one thing, competition is a natural drive behind the development of our society. Image that if there had not been the competition between American and Suviet, human would not have stepped their feet on the surface of the Moon. What's more, this competition bring us another great invention, the Internet, without which we could not image what our life would be today. Although competitions, like cold world, may not leave us a good impression, but we have to admit that they make a great difference in our life, and in the history in human.

For another, a sense of competition is dispensable in our personal development. Living in a modern society with great diversity, we cannot expect consensus and agreement in many situations. In these cases, sense and skills of competition will allow us to express our demands and thoughts, instead of being ignored. An extreme example is that, in World War II, it was impossible for us to reach agreement with Nazi. And the right thing to do was not stepping back and being nice but to step forward and fight for truth and humanity, which only could be done with a sense of competition.

However, what I alluded to above dose not draw the whole picture. Alongisde with the vitality of the sense of comptition, indisputable, it will cause unnecessary confilcition if we do not treat it properly. In addtion, sense of cooperation is another important driving force in huamn development. Without cooperation, we would not be able to slow down the global warming and save our planet. Without cooperation, we would not be able to share wisdom and explore the truth in fields of science. Without cooperation, we would not be able to prevent starvation and diseases all over the world.

For the reasons above, sense of competition and cooperation, are not exclusive and eqaully important to human society. What we should do is to treat the relateship properly and citically instead of abandoning one of them.