The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises the controversial issues of whether cooperation rather than competition should be taught to young people. Indisputely, competition often drives individuals to outstrip in tasks, allowing an individual's full potential to be reached. Nevertheless, cooperation is essential in the work force and society because each person can provide a unique perspective and skill set in order to reach optimal and efficient production for the greater good. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that competition is more valuable and would argue that cooperation, not competition should be instilled in the young as they prepare for leadership positions.

First of all, cooperation is key to a functional and efficient workflow. I would like to point out that everyone as a unique skill set that they can offer. By corralling diverse individuals, pundits of each field can work together and solve interdisciplinary issues. In government, industry and other field, problems are generally byzantines, however, by approaching the issue from multiple angles, the solution can be determined. Furthermore, let us look at the example of how teams can get more work done compared to individuals. In this circumstance, obviously the work load is divided among more people and hence more time can be dedicated to each task. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that teams can get more done.

Although cooperation can optimize workflow, competition can drive individuals to higher standards. For example, naturally individuals will strive to be better than their competition and will perform at a higher level if they are being compared to some else. Therefore, the quality of work and performance may be better with competition. However, individuals working by themselves are still limited by time and energy. Specifically, there is only so much time some one can dedicated to a task before they burn out or it becomes counterproductive due to lack of knowledge and experience in that field. Cooperation in a team can address this issue because diverse experts can tackle a vast amount of tasks seamlessly.

In government, industry, and any other field, efficiency is key, therefore, cooperation is more beneficial. Team players can get more work done compared to individuals, therefore, competition is less valuable when preparing to acquire leadership positions.