The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue at hand states that, in order to prepare the youngsters for leadership, they must be instilled with a sense of cooperation, rather than competition. This is true from almost every aspect, since it catalyzes the production of both leaders and managers!

It is a well reknown fact that cooperation promotes a sense of amity and team work. This environment facilitates the moulding of leaders, by instilling a need to achieve unity withing the team. When a person works in a group, he is bound to experience a variety of scenarios, both favorable and unfavorable. But, in the process, he also learns how to face these scenarios. So he intentionally or unintentionally, takes up the role of a leader. And as a leader, he strives towards achiving unity within the team, by cooperation among members. As a result, this leader is capable of making the group work like a well oiled machine!

Let us look at the example set by a club in our university, namely 'IE Biotechnology'. The club members have shared an intra-club rivalry, for the postition of club president, for over 8 months. This went on until last month, when they decided to restructure the entire club, by creating several deparments. Each department was assigned a head, and was highly codependant on every other department for one's work to make sense. In this way, the communication between the departments increased, forcing them to inculcate the ideology of cooperation and fealty. And the heads of the department learned how to take charge, and communicate well to get work done. Thus through this ideology of cooperation, we notice the formation of multiple capable leaders instead of just one.

Additionally, there are drawbacks in competition due to which we must not go in that direction. Even though the competition is healthy, there is always the latent need to put another down, in order to succeed. This is not the culture that a leader must have.

Although, competition is effective as a mehod, cooperation is the healthier and more effective option. And thus to prepare more young leaders in the world, we must take up 'cooperation', as we have clearly seen from the success story of IE Biotechnology.