The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Nowadays we live in a highly competitive world where only hardworking and engrossed people can become successful in some field. Some people have a claim that the best preparation for leadership in any field is an ability to survive in competition. On the contrary, other people are sure that only cooperation will help youths to become real leaders. Undoubtedly, the statement given is rather controversial; however, a closer examination reveals that the best way to prepare young people for leadership in any field is to teach them working in cooperation.

The first reason in support of my position is that collaboration lets young people learn from one another. As people of young age are mostly inexperienced, it would be particularly useful for them to hear out somebody else’s opinion, which will help youths to avoid some mistakes in the future life. Moreover, working or studying together means that participants always can ask for help or advice. In contrast to collaboration, being in competition means that you should do everything on your own, which will make your progress slower.

Another point to be made is that collaboration brings new acquaintances. New acquaintances are one of the most important parts of people’s lives because it is rather hard to survive in this world on your own. Connection with another people will help youths to avoid some unnecessary mistakes and to find a right path quicker. There are many stories of powerful and wealthy individuals who reached such a success because they had been familiar with people who supported them on their way. Being alone on your life path makes everything harder, and not everyone can handle the lack of support.

Of course, competition has some benefits, too. It is undeniable that while competing, we try to strive for more successful people because it is everyone’s dream to become the best. Whereas there is someone who performs better, you will always have a goal to beat them, which will pull you forward. However, such motivation is not always positive. Many people, trying to become the best, perform unfairly. That brings pessimism, hostility, and hatred between people, which can lead to undesirable consequences.

The last reason in support of my opinion is that working in cooperation teaches people to tolerate and understand one another. Ability to hearing others out, admit another point of view, be able to come to a compromise is an important thing. Working together often teaches youths to be pleasant people.

Once there are arguments to be made for both sides, it is clear that cooperation is the best way to become prepared for leadership in any field.