"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Leaders are essential to any group. They govern how the group works and guide them in right direction. These individuals are even more essential in the world today as there virtually an infinite number of industries and organizations which need proper guidance. Therefore, training proper leaders are paramount for a better future.

The statement claims that leaders should be instilled with a sense of cooperation instead of competition. While it is true that cooperation is more important than coordination, we should not discard competition altogether. Instead, both competition and coordination must be instilled in young individuals to make them more effective leaders.

For a group of people to form a cohesive and effective unit, a sense of cooperation is required. Without cooperation, people will work towards different goals and the effectiveness of the group is bad. If this group is instilled with competition, the situation will only get exacerbated. Therefore, a leader who can effectively instill a sense of cooperation is required; only this type of leader can bring together a group and increase overall effectiveness. For example, in the army, each unit of soldiers is assigned a leader who instills a sense of cooperation and order in each group; those who do not cooperate are penalized as non-cooperation may lead to death. A sense of competition is not instilled in soldiers as it serves no purpose.

Although a good leader enforces cooperation in a group, a great leader not only unites the group but also stay head-strong in difficult situations. For this, a leader must have experienced situation of failure and close to failure. This can be instilled the competition. It is undeniable that competition helps a person grow. People gain confidence through their victories and learn from their failure. Therefore by complementing cooperation and coordination, a person becomes an effective leader.

Although competition might be bad within groups, they are essential for leader to grow and be more effective.