"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Leaders around the world face monumentus decisions every day, so it is imperitive that those leaders are excellently prepared. As such, young citizens must be properly prepared to face the wide array of challenges that leaders are expected to solve. However, no one person will have the necessary knowledge and expertice required for each diverse issue; therefore, these future leaders must be taught how to work as a team to succeed. Because leaders of countries must work together to achieve global solutions, rulers are not the expert for every issue, and overly competitive despots can be stubborn, young people should be instilled with a sense of cooperation instead of competition.

In our world today, leaders around the world must work together to find and execute solutions to global problems. With the advances in technology, countries can no longer remain isolated from one another. Instead, nations are increasingly being forced to come together to solve a multitude of issues. For example, elected officials around the world regularly meet to discuss plans to halt and reverse global warming. This complex issue requires cooperation among every nation around the world in order to enforce a change. Leaders must be willing to work together in order to find a solution that works for countries rich and poor. As such, a sense of cooperation is required for these leaders to succeed; therefore, future rulers should be taught how to effectively cooperate because their profession will require it.

Additionally, rulers are not the expert for every issue that their nation faces. While leaders might be experienced in a few different fields, they face issues that are very interdisciplinary by nature. An example would be energy production because it requires an understanding of economics for the effects of price changes, an understanding of engineering for the current abilities of the renewable and oil energy sources, and an understanding of effective legislation for the safety of the public. Due to its very diverse nature, energy production cannot be understood by just one person; only a team of economists, engineers, and legislators could collectively understand the minute details. That group would then require cooperation to ensure that they worked together efficiently towards their goal instead of opposing each other's work. These sort of a team could be seen as the cabinet that the President of the United States regularly conferences with before making a decision.Therefore, a leader would need to have the skills required to work as part of a team similar to what was mentioned in order to steer the nation towards prosperity.

On the other hand, critics could argue that competition would result in leaders that are more effective individually and who could single-handedly make crucial decisions. According to them, competition would result in future leaders who have well-honed leadership and problem-solving skills. These individuals would be able to listen to the advice of others, but ultimately, they would make the necessary decision. While those individuals would seem like idea leaders, those very people who emerged from competition could have very nefarious characteristics instead. For example, those young people could have succeeded in those competitions by cheating or blackmailing their opponents. Because they are incentivized to win, some people would be likely to do anything even immoral actions to win. Those would not be characteristics of an effective leader, so forcing future leaders to compete would be ineffective.

In conclusion, society should prepare its young people to lead by enabling them to develop a strong ability to efficiently cooperate with others like they would do as a leader. While competition could result in a strong individual, the complex problems of the world require leaders and their teams to work collectively instead of individually.