The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The recommnendation by author regarding the correct way to develop new generation of the population to become leaders for the country in the fields of Politics, economy, industry, science and technolology has been been in debate for a long time. Many proponents of the idea like author believes that the competition is insidious and detrimental and should not be promoted. Opponents make an equally cogent case against the idea and favors the competition as a better way to bring futuristic leaders on the central stage.

In my opinion, a nation has to adopt a policy that takes best of the both ways to ellicit quality leaders to serve the country. In the present scenario, the world is facing several serious problems. Be it environmental crisis of global warming, endangered species or global terroriorism leading to hundreds of thousands of civilian casaualities every year. Be it violation of human rights in the countries of Syria, Iraq or global economical recession leading to unemployment, poverty. In the current crisis, each and every nation and the world in whole requrie best quality political leaders, very intelligent engineers, bright economists to brainstorm and figure out solutions to these issues.

In this situation, when there is sheer need of quality brain, society has to adopt way and methods to bring young generation with best minds to come up to become leaders. To ensure the qualilty of such human resource, the most appropriate tool is competition. Competition has two-folds advantage. Undoubtedly, it help the administration select the best among the best, be it any field. But, also motivates the people to grow towards excellency as well and become suitable for tha position of leadership by successive failure and incessant hard-work.

To illustrate this, let’s take example of India’s most diffifult Engineering Entrance Exam called Joint Entrance Exam for the prestigious government universities like Indian Institute of Technology or IITs. One can reckon the complexity and difficulty standard of the exam by its selection rate which if not less is around 1% of the total candidates. To some this kind of competition seems to be unfair, but so far it has ensured the India produce world’s best engineers and work on the state of art technologies to solve problems in different fields in the world.

Another exmaple the exam in the Indian political sphere is IAS or Indian Administrative Service examination. This proves to be another challenging task for the future leaders to the top posts in the governement departments. The furious competition in this exam is crucial to select only serious and country’s brightest talent, since the responsibilities they will hold will be equally significant. Solving countries social, political, economical and external problems needs best mind and brain.

Nonetheless, the other method can not be ingnored altogether. As my examples proves that leaders need to be intelligent enough to cogently work on the problems to figure out the problems, they should equally know the importance of harmony. As said by Subash Chandra Bose , a good leader know how to follow. He needs cooperation and support not only from his subordinates but also for general mass and fellow colleagues.

All the world’s leaders say Obama, Modi, Xi Jinping , they know how to take leverage of the resources they have with added support and cooperation they can get from each other and their respective country’s citiizens to construct policies and run the countries.

In conclusion, competition and cooperation have to go hand in hand to make best leaders. Leaders and people following them needs to be motivated and cooperative to achieve common goals.