"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."-Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

While it may be one of the way to prepare the young people by implanting sense of cooperation but having a understanding of competition is as essential as former one. Emphasizing on both the attributes equally would make a great leader.

In today's world where everyone is fighting for higher position, there are many examples from which it can be suggested that striving to gain or win something could bring the best out of the person and lead to the better outcome for the industry or government for which person is working. As long as that hunger or the trait of competition doesn't hurt anyone, it could act as motivation for the person to work harder. For example, in the league of soccer, for a weak team to win the trophy they must have rivalry to the extent where they can beat the tough opposition with good margin and push themselves beyond their abilities and limits.

With the competition, needs of cooperation is also vital for the leader to draw out the compassion and feeling of trust in the people. Working together and to grow a mutual understanding would be encouraging. Understanding the needs of everyone and readiness to involve in every issue can grow immense confidence and trust in the people. For example, Henry Ford, the industrialist and founder of Ford motor company, is one such epitome of cooperative leader who solidified the industry revenue and growth through developing such quality. By changing the attitude towards their worker and giving a car to everyone as a gift triggered the emotions that they are center of concern and begun to work merrily and diligently. It's important for leader to not become conceited and supercilious.

Although with the sense of competition, excessive desire and crave for something could lead to strife or conflict where people might want to establish a superiority over others. In the fierce competition, people would want to destroy their opponents in order to take the gold chair of higher position. And that behavior could worsen the government and industry. Leader with condescending behavior would be threat to society and can arise to a vast number of hatred. And with that only one industry or person would be benefited.

So, blend of little competency with cooperation in mind would promote a finer and better leader from whom advancement of society can be predicted with certainty.