The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

People live in society as a group. In the society due to accumulate sufficient amount of daily needs people become competitive, such as in education, procuring jobs, flourishing business etc. . Some opine that the cooperation is the best way to achieve a successful society whereas others say that competition will be given more priority than cooperation. But in my view, competition is necessary for progress in development but not sufficient as only cooperation can provide a sustainable growth in impending years.

We all know the famous postulate "survival of the fittest" by Darwin. According to the conjecture, several species combat among themselves on food, shelter to survive in an unfavourable environment, but only one will be successful by "Natural selection" who can adapt themselves more rapidly than others with the changeable environmental niche. Same is applicable to human race. Without competitive character none can attain his aspiration as there are others also.

Let us consider the impact of competition on our modern society. We all know about the world’s two dominating companies Apple Inc and HTC. Iphone introduced by Apple is the trend of modern society as it gives so more facilities whereas HTC previously renowned for its windows phone only has become a potential competitor against Apple. So, competition between these two companies accelerates the development in technology and inhibits the emergence of monopolized market. Another example in this regard can be given in the field of election of president of a country. During this time opponent parties always address the flaws of the opposite and citizens of the nation can scrutinize the drawbacks and good of both the parties and elect the person of their preference.

But we can't neglect cooperation in society. For example the uncompromising attitude within the country and outside the country of Hitler had taken its toll through the Second World War and the collapse of the nation. During the outbreak of SARS in 2003, there was no immediate medicine to cure this disease and people all over the world afflicted by it were died. But collaboration among the countries helped to arrest the spread of this contagious virus with the aid of proper food and necessary medical assistance.

In conclusion, without competition an individual, a society can’t proceed but to maintain this progress cooperation is necessary. But instilling cooperation than competition is much harder as every person has an inborn competitive mentality, whereas cooperation comes from respect and empathy to others.