The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This topic raises a very delicate issue whether, the best method to control environmental problems caused due to the waste generated in towns and cities by people is to impose strictness on the amount of trash to be collected from each household, or there might be a better option. Indisputably, there are many households who produce a great amount of trash. But, that doesn't mean that imposing such a rule would reduce the amount of trash generated by them. Hence, I disagree with the assertion that the best method to reduce the trash amount generated by the people is to impose strict rules about waste collection.

Firstly, the amount of trash varies depending upon the place and it's use. If, the place is used as a hotel or a restaurant than, naturally the waste generated will be greater than the household produced trash. Also, the waste generated by factories and industries is greater than general office trash. Thus, to impose the same rule for the industries and for the office buildings does not provide with the solution. However, if it is done than the factory might run at loss, which can result into other undesired results.

Secondly, the consumer generated waste is mainly caused due to the products of the factories and industries. In a routine life, people uses sanitary items, clothes and culinary items. So, the maximum amount of the trash generated will obviously be generated at these industries. Therefore, imposing the strict limits on the trash collections on the households might not do any good to the society.

Also, there are many households that produce higher amount of the trash than most of the other households. Still, this is generally due to the potential enterpreneurship being ran by the households. So, by imposing the strict rules of the trash collection on these industries and factories there will be the reduction in the amount of trash produced. However, by imposing it on the households might not render the edicacy intended.

Therefore, to sum it up the contention of the author is indefensible that there will be decreament in the waste generated by imposing stricts laws on the waste collection on households. It is contrasting to the overwhelming evidence that suggests that instead of the households the imposition should be done on the nearby industries and factories to render desired results. So, the author's assertion is not viable to reduce the trash generation to solve environmental problems.