The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Praising a student is very conducive in teaching them whereas the badgering them about the faults in them can have opposite results.

Apreciation is bound to bring confidence. In fact it actually empowers one to think for himself. Moreover, if students are appreciated they feel acomplished which makes them more intrested in learning as it gives them a feeling that what they are doing is the right thing for them. On the other hand if their weaknesses are notified to them constantly there exists a strong probability that they’ll loose their confidence and may retreat from trying hard as the feeling of being a misfit for the task will sarround them. Thus, where encouragment can be termed pivotal to learning, criticizim can be termed as a threat.

Another aspect to be considered is that being praised develops a self respect in the student which becomes very dear him. Therefore, in circumstances when he finds something hard to understand he tries much harder as he can not loose the prestige he enjoys as somebody admired for their achievements. Whereas somebody who has been declared a failure before has litle prestige to defend in comparison which leads to lesser enthusiasm for striviing hard. This is usually the case with those who suffer in the early years of schools, they find themselves labled as the not so wise kids and thus show complacency about their poor performance. Furthermore, the belief that we are meant to be like this arises in them. Thus by prasising student we impart them with an honour to defend and by castigating them we marked them as those who cant achieve.

Keeping in mind the above discussion it should be remembered that sometimes due to vaious other reasons a student might not work hard on learning even though praised for his few achievements. In such scenarios it is necessary to remind him that he is going of the track but this should be done in a very later stage and in a very polite way, which may not become a threat to his self respect.