The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

According to the statement provided in the prompt, the best way to teach is to praise positive actions while ignoring negative ones. I disagree with such statement: I believe that for teaching to be the most effective, positive actions should be praised, but negative actions should not simply be ignored, they should try to be corrected.

Learning entails acquiring a new skill or new knowledge, while teaching entails facilitating the acquisition of such skill and/or knowledge. In this manner, teaching is undeniably related to learning, given that when something is taught effectively the student also learns it effectively. When a child is learning how to walk or talk, or when he or she is learning healthy habits (e.g. brushing his or her teeth, washing his or her hands before dinner, etc.), receiving praise will make for the behavior to, more likely, be repeated. At the same time, it will also undoubtedly provide the child good self esteem and confidence. Nonetheless, receiving praise exclusively is not ideal. If, say, a child at some point decides that he does not want to brush his teeth anymore, it is imperative for this this negative behavior to be corrected in order for that child to grow up knowing and engaging in healthy behaviors.

Furthermore, when, for example, grade school students are learning arithmetic, or when high school students are learning algebra, they need to be told when they are doing things right, but they should also be told when they make a mistake. Most grade school and high school math classes give homework so students can practice, and students are also usually tested on the material exams. Doing well on homework and exams is commendable, and students’ good performance should undoubtedly be praised. This will provide students with satisfaction, motivation and encouragement. However, a negative performace and the mistakes students make should also be corrected. If the mistakes are simply ignored, how could those students learn from such mistakes? More likely than not, if such mistakes are not corrected, these students could go on to later mathematics classes with some faulty ideas or concepts, which in the long run would be detrimental to their overall education.

On the other hand, it can also be argued that criticism that is too harsh or that is not given in a positive manner can also be detrimental for the learning process. Going back to the previous example of the grade school and high school math classes: if the students that make mistakes on their homework and/or on their tests are scolded for those mistakes (instead of being tactfully told how they erred and how they can do better), the learning process for them will be extremely difficult as well as inadequate. Moreover, if they are only told about their mistakes and wrongdoings, and if praise is nonexistent, these students will most likely lack the confidence and motivation to want to do well and better their perfomance, which in turn will further preclude the learning proces.

In conclusion, the best teaching method is one that is based on praising good behavior and performance, as well as correcting negative behavior. As was discussed, when someone is learning, receiving praise for good work surely contributes to the learning process: it serves as positive reinforcement, such as that the good work that was done will most likely be repeated in the future. In other words, in virtually all cases, providing praise serves as an excellent motivator and provides for an effective learning enviornment. However, if there is negative actions or negative behavior, these should also be corrected in a tactful manner, which will in turn provide for the best and most effective and advantageous learning process.