The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

We always want to focus on the good and ignore the bad, in almost all scenarios of life. Though it makes sense, we have to learn from the past and how to better ourselves in the future. That is why we have to teach our future generations why and how actions are good or bad. Every individual learns differently and therefore, teaching should not be generalized to be best suited for everyone.

Of course, we want to praise positive actions because this will condition the person to continue to their behavior. It is unjustly to focus on just the positive and ignore negative behaviors. Without confronting the poor actions, the person will not truly understand what they are doing wrong and limit their judgement. The person will assume there is nothing wrong with that type of act and may continue to perform the act in the future. Teaching requires some sort of repercussions for unfavorable behaviors. There are better outcomes if teachers and guiders help the student understand the reasons behind their negative actions. Ignoring a matter does not make it go away; it is best to confront and help the person comprehend how their behavior was unfavorable or damaging.

To focus only on the positive aspects of behavior is limiting a person’s understanding of their actions. By relying on favorable ones, these individuals will only seek and focus on what will bring them success or praise. They will not understand the results of failure or hardships or be able to comprehend the poor behavior of others. Individuals, who have been taught through positive actions, will find it difficult to adjust when things don’t go according to plan. In order to promote growth and well-roundedness, we have to commend students for good actions and acknowledge their bad ones as well.

Though it is best to individualized teaching to each student’s personality, some may learn better if the focus is on their best behavior and actions. Some, who have lower self-esteem, will feel distraught if there is any light shined on their negative choices. They may learn to adapt themselves to forgo the bad actions and only perform what is good and will pave the road to success.

Not all people are alike and we cannot assume everyone should be taught the same way. In order to promote well-thought out actions and empathy, teachings need to acknowledge both positive and negative actions.