The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its heroines."

Throughout the history society have always idolized certain people based on their contribution to the society. These people may be social workers who have worked towards the progress of the society or they could be political leaders who have made a radical change in the society for betterment of people. Whatever may be the reasons, I certainly believe that society as a whole should not be assessed on the basis of the men and women chosen as its role model. To put it in another way, the character of the chosen hero may not be indicative of the overall representation of the society. This is because each individual has its own perception to see the things around them, which ultimately shapes their thinking and their character. There may be certain cases where the public tries to emulate their idols, but this certainly does not imply that the entire society's behaviour is the same.

As a matter of first importance many news channel always follow popular celebrities and come up with scandalous news about them. For example, Lady Diana was loved and adorned by various people around the world and was not only considered a role model in her countries but also in other countries too. Even after her death, there have been numerous occasions where the media have maligned her name with scandals regarding her personal life. Does this suggest, that the society which adores Lady Diana behave in the same manner. One must understand that each individual has a personal as well as a private life. Not Everyone in this world succeeds in maintaining an equal balance between the two. Same is the case with the celebrities and public faces. Some can manage both well and some cannot. So we cannot gauge much about the society based on the heroes chosen by them.

Secondly, political leaders are elected to run the society well. If a leader is picked up on basis of certain qualities like honesty, patriotism, then does this mean the entire society is honest? One the contrary what if, few politicians are corrupt? Will this reflect the character of the people, who elected the candidate. There can be many scenarios to consider. May be the real nature of the leader was hidden from the people. Maybe the people realize their mistake after electing the leader. Considering the case of Barack Obama. Prior to his election he took up the change to lead the country with his mantra of change. Since his election, the global economy has become precarious, and people in the US are getting unemployed. Citizen, once filled with hope for future at the hands of this new president, have now become disillusioned.

So in the view of above, it can be concluded that the character of a chosen hero is not representative of the entire society. Rather than looking at the people who have temporarily held position, look at the form of government who serves the population. One must read its constitution and conclude whether, the government allows fair and equal treatment of a citizen? Are punishments and rewards meted out in an equal manner? The thread that runs through the history of the culture is a better indicator of the society.