Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

As it has been rightly said that " All actions have consequences". The morality of the action can be calculated on the basis of its consequences. Action that results in more good than bad can be considered morally correct. Since we live in a society, it is quite often that the repercussions of our actions are considered good if they benefit the larger mass of our society. The intent, whatever it might be have been, doesn't really matter if the consequences serve to be beneficiary to the society. Critics are going to criticize the actions but as long as the amount of good that results from the action outweighs the amount of bad, i think it is morally correct.

The society that we live in comprises of people with variety of needs. To satiate all the needs of the populace is whimsical. But if the action has consequences that satiates majority of the needs' of people, it is morally correct. Taking example of the recent demonetization in India, the government attempted to curb the menace of black money and corruption through this stricture action. The good that will result from this action is certainly going to outweigh the scanty adversities faced by the citizens. There has been an immense support from the citizens as well. But still critics especially the opposition are not favoring the decision. They condemn the decision stating that the action has led to mass unemployment and various other problem. But still the nation as a whole has proved them wrong.

The consequences of any action are certainly not in the hands of its doer. Only after a certain time will it be apparent if the action was good or bad. All that really matters is the result. If the beneficiaries outweigh the adversaries, the action can be deemed good. Thus actions that are propitious to many and not so to few are morally correct. Like in times of war, the leaders of the nation are faced with great many difficult choices.Choices are made on the basis of greater good for the nation. The intent then does not really matter if the consequences are to benefit the nation. Even if the intent is irreverent, if the resulting action will benefit more people than it harms, then they are quite reluctant to take such action.

The morality of action depends more on the consequences rather than the intent. Because even if the intent was wrong, if the action proves beneficial to the greater mass, then such actions are morally correct. Finally the consequences will reflect the action and not the tacit intent.

So to conclude an action can be deemed morally correct if it results in more amount of good than bad. The intent does have a role in deciding the morality of the action but it can be neglected if the consequences outweigh those malicious intent. If the societal benefits increase due to some action, and if they outnumber the difficulties , then such action are morally correct.