Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

When it comes to the shift of power, people's views are typically ambivalent. Some contend that leaders should step down after five years regardless of which fields they are in, which guarantees innovation and revitalization by new leadership. I partly agree with the statement. In fact, in some certain fields like politics, it is imperative to ensure the shift of power, whereas in other situations, like business, having the same person in power for a long time may be beneficial.

Foremost, restricting the time one could be in power is essentially the characteristic of modern democracy. So this is absolutely desired in politics and government. The world are developing with remarkable speed, and new thoughts and ideas from the leadership are crucially important for the thriving of a society. Experienced as they are, leaders of the older generations may not adapt to the need of new eras as readily as younger politicians and may hold obselete beliefs and ideas that no longer benefit the ongoing develop of society. In this case, younger politicians with the vision and determination to reform and bring changes to society are highly expected. Only in this way, can the thoughts and ideology in a society be up-to-date.

However, frequent shifts in power can also bring about problems. Let us take the U.S. politics as an example. Different presidents from Democratic or Republican party always disparage each other's political creeds and policies, overshadowing the country with much uncertainty. Eight years in the U.S. are usually far from enough for a president to fully realize his or her political ambitions, not to say five. The consequences are farmiliar to many living in the country: an almost endless circle of new proposals and initiatives coming up with the former president and been repealed by the next one in power. This makes life less hopeful and also wastes a huge amount of money.

Similarly, the endurance of leadership and power may be conducive or even necessary in business. Steve Jobs, for instance, served as the president of Apple company for decades, which enabled him to infuse his own asethetic judgement and philosophy into generations of its products. This long-lasting style is what defined the company. Arguably, if the style of products made by one particular company alters frequently with the shift of leadership, there would be much fewer easily discernable, iconic and even one-of-a-time industrial products for customers.

Due to aforementioned ground, steping down from power is of vital importance for the revitalization of an enterprise, but only restricted to certain fields like politics and government. In cases where the personal character of the leader plays an indispensable role in the flourish of an entity, a long leadership is definitely better.