Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.
Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which
that claim is based.
The above claim asserts that we should always oppose any fact that is put forward by an individual, since there are high
chances of it being proven false. The reason put forward for the intended action states that it has been usually observed
that most of the factual information actually turns out to be spurious. While the trend observed is quite true, I disagree with
the notion of disregarding all the facts on the grounds of previously observed tautological inferences regarding the failure of
the facts when empirical study is carried out.
As it has been observed that when experiments are carried out on premises supposed in the study, it fails in most of the
cases causing loss in terms of time and money. Thus, people claim that we should rather give credibility to only those facts
which are experimentally proven. But considering this trend, we can't discard all such facts. In some cases, facts do appear
credible and turn out to be accurate. Considering the case of presence of extraterrestial beings or aliens in the solar system,
it is widely accepted till date that there are no such creatures existing. This infact has not been refuted with a concrete
evidence. Thus we tend to believe that atleast in our solar system no such aliens exist.
Usually in the case of experiments requiring a lot of investments, when we consider a fact to be true, it saves us the time
and money required to actually try to prove it. Facts regarding such study where the facts appear to be true and also when
the study over such matters does not cause a significant difference to our everyday lives should rather be accepted than
refuted. As in the above case, the presence or absence of extraterrestial life does not cause any major changes in our lifes
and so spending abundant amount of economy and time to carry expeditions to other planets seems quite profligated.
On the other hand, instead of discarding facts put forward by individuals, we should rather use them in the lines of research
work and carry out experiments on the same front. This would edify us and provide us a succinct view of the study. It saves
us the time of exploring every available alternative. Considering the case of discovery of presence of electrons and protons
in the atom, if we were unaware of the fact that atoms carry charges, we might have never been able to discover these
charged particles. Research work was carried out keeping the fact of charges in mind, which resulted in the discovery of
electrons and protons possible.
Thus, I fail to agree to the fact that facts should be discarded solely on the basis of trends observed of them failing in most
of the cases. Rather than being obdurate towards a particular fact or simply giving it the credibility, we should rather carry
out research in the same direction if the experiment taken into consideration might be beneficial for humans and is feasible
in the present day.