Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The author claims that the best way to test an argument is that you convince opponents. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the last point carries more weight. In the many situations you can not convene others, even though your idea was logically.

To illustrate my position, firs let us to take a look on why some people think that your idea is valuable when you can convince opponents. As we all know, you never can have entirely knowledge about a matter, and it is quite normal your idea can not be without faults. Discussing with opponents allows you to be aware of weaknesses of your idea, so you can better reform it. In this way, convincing opponents is an indication that your argument is right completely. For instance, a teacher of theoretical physics for confirming his theory, he should discuss with other teachers in this field study and convince them by the logical reasoning. Only through this, they can be sure of the correctness of theory.

In contrast, in most cases opponents may not be convince that your argument is correct, even thought you provide logical reasons. In fact, people who disagree with your argument can not accept it, because it can put their interest on the line. In addition, some people never can leave their old beliefs. I think that a small example can give some light on this matter. Nowadays, Galileo had proven that the earth is not the center of world, unlike what religious leaders had said. At that time, religious leaders could not accept their idea, because it lead to people think that the religious teaching can be false. Hence, they worried about their benefits. More over, people have the strong religious background, which did not allow them to accept Galileo’s opinion.

All above evidence supports this undeniable facts that opponents’ comments about your idea depends on many factors that logical reasoning is one of them.