Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What is the best measuring rod of the persuasive power of somebody, convincing the opposition or just listening to the argument of the opponents? While many critics - including the author of the above claim - might argue that ability to convince best measure the argument skills, for it helps to make out the value of the own and the opposition argument, it is an immature reply. Therefore, as far as I am concerned, I believe that there are several factors which measures the argumentative skills of one, one of them being the skill of convincing the opponents to boot.

To begin with, those critics who would argue that the best measuring rod of the persuasive power of somebody is the ability to convince even the opposition might prefer to further claim that with evidences and the example, a good argument should be able to convince the opposition too. However, there might be some situations where some adamant people don't get convinced by the facts as well. For example, during the Maoist conflict, some peoples were supporting even the brutal deeds of the army. Although it was wrong, they were doing so mainly due to emotional reason, that is, they had lost their relatives due to the brutal activities of Maoist militias. Therefore, the principle of human right, Geneva Conventions etc. did not convince them, for those sentimental causes. In this case, none could convinced them. Does this mean there was no any skilled argument? Of course there were skilled argument, yet the victim relatives were not convinced.

Now, lets find the another side of the dice that I adhere: there are several factors which measures the argumentative skills of one, one of them being the skill of convincing the opponents to boot. Mainly in the scientific realm, robust premises are required to convince the oppositions. Once, such evidences are presented, none can raise question without reasonable facts. Einstein, for example, made it clear that Newtonian mechanics is no longer valid in the scenario where particles moves at a speed exceeding the speed of light. He invalidated Newtonian mechanics in a special circumstance which we generally known as The Theory of Special Relativity. While formulating this theory, Einstein consulted with many scientists, who were both supporters and opponents. During these consultations, Einstein understood the value of own as well as others' argument. Finally, He convinced all based on his robust explanation.

Similarly, in some situations, some obdurate people don't even convince by the facts because of their personal reason. Some political cadres, for example, might not be convinced by the sound argument of the opponents owing to the political advantages they are getting from their party. In such context, some argument fails to convince, does not mean it is not a good argument.

Finally, at the end of the day, It is clear that the best test of argument is not only when someone becomes able to convince opponents: it is affected by several factors - like subject, situation, with whom you are arguing etc. In some sectors, such as science, people can be convinced and make understood the value of the argument with solid premises; to some people it is really difficult to make someone believe due to several causes, including emotional reason.