Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does on really discover the value of that idea.

The statement claims that best way of an argument is its ability to persuade someone with opposing viewpoint and it documents with reasons that protect the idea from doubts and compromising the vision of other can find the value of that idea. Whenever people debate about controversial issue such as how to make a limit for the abortion, or do we have to abolish the law of execution of criminal? There are always have the positive attitude toward the argument while others have negative or maybe different vision of the argument. However, there are two attractive ideas that will affect the statement to disagree: opposing viewpoint can have vision, and the directionality of the argument is to consolidate each other value.

First of all, opposing vision can have vision. Most argument has always pros and cons, and there are so many types of argument. While someone agree with the argument, others don’t. However, just because opposing vision has different ideas, it doesn’t mean that they should be convinced. Opposing ideas are neither a negative or bad influence to the argument; it is basically, opposing vision will show the other aspects of vision; which doesn’t have to be convinced to other way. Hence, different vision should be accepted as itself.

Moreover, argument is for consolidation of each other’s value. In politics or international diplomacy, there are many types of adversities to persuade easily to other factions or other countries. People are colored by what they pursue, and any vision shouldn’t be disturbed. Take for instance, there are employer and employee; whereas employee have different opinion about their salary, employer don’t accept it. Then it came up with another conflict to other problems. Therefore, there should be a consolidation among different aspects of opinion.

Admittedly, persuasion should be required in argument. Defending an idea against the doubts can be a reason why to persuade the opposing viewpoint and contrasting the other viewpoint to discover the value of that idea. For example, argument of environmental problem is one of the major issue around the world. While developed countries agree about to reduce the amount of methane excretion, developing countries disagrees because this will cause their development in remission. They will try to convince each other; however, it essentially can’t taper each other. Therefore, there should be an understanding of each other situation so that they can compromise; this aspect of the issue is not easily solved, the argument should be someone has to step back and so that the others can step forward.

In conclusion, the general vision of the statement is that best test of an argument should have persuasion of the opposing vision. It is controversial issue because the key of argument can be persuasion. However, with those compelling reasons, it will buttress the idea that argument is not always persuasion.