Claim: the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The author of the issue contends that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing idea. The author further reasons that the value of an idea would be elucidated only by defending against qualms and challenging views of others. In what follows I will first discuss my response to the claim and then explain what I think of the reason on which the claim is based.

I fundamentally disagree with the author’s claim because in analyzing an argument there is far more to consider than trying to persuade opposing viewpoints. One significant component is the cognition and knowledge of opponents about the discussing case because convincing one with superficial information about an idea seems to be easy and can not challenge the argument. In addition, whenever comes to an argument it is necessary to see if opposing ideas derive from reason or are delineated to destroy the tenets of the idea.

To reveal the real value of an idea one should be able to defend the idea in a reasonable path and be open to accept defects and flaws if there are. That is, biased defending against opposite ideas not only does not help that the value of an idea would be elucidated, but also directs to degeneration because opponents assume that the biased and unreasonable behavior comes from the weakness of an idea, however, accepting reasonable critics might improve the idea and push the owner of that thought to consider other aspects of the idea and fortify it.

In sum, I assert that there are myriad of factors that should be considered to discover the real value of a proposition and defending against opposing viewpoints itself does not work.