Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

I agree with the statement that a good test, may not be the best, for an argument is its ability to convincing someone with an opposite viewpoint. However, I can’t agree with the extremity of the reason provided: only being forced to defend the idea against idea one discovers the true potential of the idea.

Convincing the opposition is the best test for an argument only when the opposition’s view is also rationally strong and the opposition is not obdurate to accept view other than his/her own. If the opposition is weak, lacks knowledge about the topic under discussion then he/she can be easily convinced even if the argument is not strong. On the other hand, if the opposition is too stubborn to change his/her view and sticks to his/her belief then you can’t convince him anyway. But, that doesn’t mean that your argument is valueless, it is just that the person you are arguing with not open to accept ideas that differ from his/her own.

However, if the opposition is rational and possess good quality counter-argument then convincing him/her is really a good test. As the opposition approaches you with logical counter-arguments you will try to come up with more logical explanations behind your idea. This kind of opposition will try to point you some loopholes in your idea and that will challenge you to come up with more logical explanation to discard those loopholes. This way you will find out your idea or argument is really strong or not.

Now coming to the reason provided with claim, it is not true that only when we have to defend our idea we discover its true value. Value of an idea can be discover while development stage also. Before claiming anything or raising our idea to someone, we ourselves try to judge and verify our points.

In conclusion, I will say that convincing someone with opposite view is definitely a good way to test an idea as long as the opposition is open minded and possess good quality logic.