Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author has claimed that examining the character of the men and women that a society choses as their hero, one can understand the character of the society. To support the claim the author reasons that these heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideal and hence are a representative of the society. While this may be true in most cases, generalizing it to all societies would be wrong.

Every society functions with its said norms, values, culture and ethics. Individuals following them are sometimes elevated to a level of idols or role models. And it may seem to an outsider that that idol or hero is a representative of the society as a whole. There are several shortcomings in ceding to this observation. Firstly, any hero or role model may enjoy support of majority in a society. But, that does not mean that he or she is enjoying the support of everyone. Therefore, any attempt to generalize falls short of reality. Secondly, the idea of a hero is not impacted by the fact that society changes over a period of time. For example, it will be jocular to conclude that Indians are like Mahatma Gandhi, always speaking truth and following the path of non-violence. The era of Gandhi was 20th century, in the present 21st century, the idol may be same but society has underwent a massive change in its values.

There are cases of multiple heroes in a society. A nation which respected Gandhi also idolizes Bhagat Singh, who as per many was a terrorist. This raises the questions on the claim, whether the heroes can truly represent a society? Especially in big societies, which may have more than one idols.

On the other hand, we have plethora of heroes which genuinely represent the society. Mr. Nelson Mandela, a true mirror of how the south african society was pro-equality, shows the same characteristics. The Americans consider Mr. Benjamin Franklin as a hero, someone who worked hard from early childhood in a small print press and worked his way up to lead the nation, becoming a symbol of American dream. In such cases, one can make a general assumption that their hero or role model gives some idea about the societies characteristics.

To sum, the heroes or role models definitely represent a part of the society but cannot be a cynosure of societal character because of their lack of universal acceptance.