Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author raises a controversial issue whether, to understand a society is it good enough just to study the character of people whom society believes to be a hero or its role model. Indisputably, there are many people who becomes the august personality for the society by their deeds and morals. Nevertheless, the society's character cannot be studied by such a meager sample. Thus, I disagree with the author that the scrutinizing the characters of the the role models gives the proper character of the society and would argue that the proper sample must be examined and the accurate data analysis must be done.

Firstly, there might be many people in the society who are righteous and who are very honest but than does society sees them as their heroes? Obviously, the answer is no as the views of the society differs about such an analysis. To illustrate it further let us take the example of Mahatma Gandhi. Many people consider him as a role model and believe in his ideals if the non-violence and truth. But, that does not give credit to the assumption that the society as a whole believes in the ideals of non-violence and truth. There are many occurrences of the terror activities and scams which gives evidence about that.

Also, every person has a different thinking approach. Thus, it is evident that the role for different person might not be the same. Some people may choose Swami Vivekanand as his role model while some may choose Mahatma Gandhi, while some may choose Arjuna. Thus, the role model depends upon the vision of the person. So, the heroes being different for the people of the society, the characters of the people of the society will differ accordingly.

Though, it is true that the role model provides the ideal character of the person of the society; our common sense tells us that there are many qualities which might be similar among all. For example, the impetus for the goal to achieve, etc. Nevertheless, it does not provides the precise character of the society as a whole. Further study of the same is required know that.

To sum it, the authors suggestion that the role models gives the character of the society as a whole is indefensible. The role model might describe the character of a person but not of society's. Thus, as long as some measurements are taken, or some cases are involved the conclusion that the role model does not describe the character of a society as a whole holds credit.