Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Ordinary men die but Heroes live on in the memories of those he touched. It is a very famous saying in almost all the languages of the world. Heroes are conferred upon the status of immortality by the people. Thus one can extrapoate that he/she has had an immense influence on the subjects. Thus it is apt to say that a society's character can determined by examining the character of it's role models.

Hero worship is not a new phenomena. It has been practiced for years . Jesus Christ was a hero who sacrificed his life for his principles and his people.The common men who worshipped and idolized him would invariably consider those qualities as sacred and try to follow them. Thus the society as a whole will be changing for better. Let us consider another example on the other extreme. Adolf Hitler was chosen as the leader of Germany because he was considered a hero by the Germans. Hence the German public followed his principles dogmatically without questioning.

In day to day life we can see number of actors and other celebrities endorsing for good cause, volunteering, donating for charity etc... The main idea behind this is, if someone who is loved by the majority of the people supports a cause, there is a high probability that the rest of the population might follow. This is the same principle behind the advertisement campaigns choosing actors as their product's brand ambassadors.

History has given us number of examples where the highest values upheld by a society were dictated by a leader who was unanimously chosen by the public because they believed in his/her morals and character. Thus they also start to imitate them in order to resemble them. This can be evidenced by a very materialistic example from day today's example. The fashion trends most of us follow are dictated by cinema stars. Clothes that were once considered dull suddenly can bloom to life because it was recommended by the 'stars' whom a group of people consider as a role model.

Having said that, there are also many negative aspects of hero worship. One should understand that no humam being is perfect. There are plenty of flaws in people we consider as great. The unfortunate state is that since most people blindly follow, they might not differentiate between them or worse think whatever they do or say ought to be right which may result in catastrophic results as it happened in the case of Germany.

Alexander the Great, Napoleon Bonaparte, Martin Luther King, Mahathma Gandhi etc.. all these great souls have one thing in common that is they were chosen by the people as leaders for a cause because they believed in them and thus followed their ideals and values. In India, there are millions of people who believe in non- violence to end war which is why it's relationship with Pakistan is not very strained.

While it is reasonable to say that heroes reveal a society's highest ideals, one should not forget that there were heroes in history who people repent electing and caused great decimation to mankind. In that case, there will be less correlation between the hero's morals and the society.

Thus, it his generally acceptable to evaluate a society based on the leader or role model it chooses but there are also other parameters like the way of living, relationship with fellow citizen etc.. for the same.