Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Any society of the world be it ancient,medieval or modern has some heroes, heroines or role models to look up to. These role models are generally men and women who previously led the present society or an earlier society from which the present one has evolved, in times of difficulty. The heroes are those individuals whose innovative thinking, suffering for the society's cause, some acts of valor or some other distinctive act resulted in significant benefit to the society in the near or distant past. Therefore, I agree with the claim which states: "The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models."

The primary reason cited for this claim states that the heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals. This is indeed true, as the heroes oe role models are those individuals whom a society wishes to emulate. They represent some of the highest moral objectives which a given society can strive for. The word "role model" itself refers to an individual with such high ideals that his way of life is an example to follow for others. The tales of such heroes, the life-styles of such role models are interwoven in the moral fabric of the society which chooses them. Younger generation of the society grows up listening to the tales of the achievements and exploits of such heroes and heroines. It is very natural for them to develop a striving towards emulating their role models and using the methods used by the role models to achieve their own goles in life. Thus the heroes or role models of a society do have a deep effect on the overll way of thinking,moral values and virtues of a society.

The world is full of examples of societies reflecting the ideals of those,whom they have chosen as their heroes and role models. Mahatma Gandhi,a salient figure in India's struggle for Independence also the Father of Nation for India, was firm believer in non-violence, spirituality and secularism. The modern social and political fabric of India is imbued with his ideals. The youth of the nation might not be very keen to take up Gandhi's renouncement of material life,however the Indian society still prides itself on its spiritual, secular and peace loving nature. It has a similar impact on the world too,as people all over the world come to India seeking spirituality. Thus some of the salient ideals of the Indian society are reflected in Mahatma Gandhi,who is one of the major heroes of the Indian society.

There are other such examples too.American society of today reflects the ideals of George Washington who fought against injustice and exploitation inflicted by British empire on its colonies and those of Abraham Lincoln who fought against inequality in American society. The USA of today is a society which offers equality to people of all casts, color and religions and stands against any kind of injustice not only in the USA but all over the world.

Summing up, the heroes and role models of a society model the moral character of the society thereby representing the highest ideals that the society strives for.