Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

The issue here is whether the goals chosen by an individual should be considered to be contributing to the society or whether they have to be chosen for one's dream fulfillment. The claim lays emphasis on the worthiness of the goal but the reason given to do so has a very narrow outlook on the issue. This given reason maligns the people's motives to pursue a goal and undermines their decision making power.

Firstly, directly coming to the claim given, it has a very narrowed and categorical word to define a goal. Who can decide if a goal is worthy or not? Does the person's motivation of pursuing a goal actually stems from such reasoning always? When you call someone's dream selfish, you are questioning their morality. Take the example of Wright Brothers. Their dream was to make man fly using money and machines they had. These could have used in other philanthropic work. But instead they chose to make a flight. Their dream was selfish but its worthiness in today's world is immeasurable.

Secondly, I believe goals are supposed to be selfish. They are supposed to be pursued with all dedication, ignoring other things in life to achieve them. Distractions and adhering to other people will only make people deviate from their path. Dr. Nikola Tesla comes to mind in this case. To make path breaking contributions in Physics, he never worked in a group. He solely devoted his time to study electromagnetism. People might have definitely called him selfish for doing this, but that doesn't lessen his contribution to the world.

Conversely it can be pointed out that barring some cases, not all goals make contributions and they are inherently selfish. But we cannot undermine such contributions to the whole scenario. For example if machines were invented for making quick money, the same sophisticated machines helped Dr. Tesla to carry out his experiments. Another counterpoint here can be that this will make people ethically down and become repudiate. But saying so is only looking at a very small picture. After all humans have their share of imperfections, but the collective good that comes from such contributions outshines these deficiencies.

In a nutshell, it is good to guide young people in their path and help them with insights for pursuing their goals. But telling them that doing so is selfish is wrong. It discourages them and shows the closed mindset of the people they are seeking help from. Hence, young people should only be guided not shunned for their particular choices.