Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Whilst I agree with the author that many of the cultural traditions are found in the major cities for many nations, I strongly disagree with the subsequent reasoning that cultural heritage should then drive financial support decisions. National budgets have rightfully been in the center of immense debate amongst politicians and the public because it is important to get this right; development plans are funded by taxpayers, for taxpayers. Hence, governments have the fiduciary duty to steward funds so that the country prosper economically.

The financial investment decisions of a nation depend largely on whether the investment is likely to bring returns. It is a contrived argument that the cultural heritage of a city would bring in a large proportion of the nation's income; it might be possible for a small country like Vatican City, but it is much harder for that to be true in a large country, say China. Beijing is the capital city of China, rich in heritage, home to the imperial palace and the world renowned great wall of China. Although Beijing draws in millions of domestic and international tourists eager to visit this heritage, it is Shanghai the financial and business hub of China, that brings in a larger proportion of its national income. It would hence be prudent to consider the possible returns on investment based on the additional income it brings before deciding on the beneficiary of investments.

Secondly, nonmajor cities should also be considered as candidates. Along the same lines of argument regarding returns on investment, investments in nonmajor cities could prove to be lucrative. Take Western Australia for example, the mining industry of Western Australia is a major contributor towards the Australian economy; it was a perspicacious move by the Australian government to ramp up infrastructure investments in Western Australia to facilitate the growth of the industry even though none of the major cities are found there. It is the investment potential that drives the economy, hence whether a city is considered major or not is a tangential discourse from the pith of the analysis.

Thirdly, departing from the argument of maximizing the return on investments, we should note that imbalance in investments across the country should be monitored and arrested before any crisis arises. If the government runs the country based solely on mercenary principles, cities that possess some innate advantage, such as geography, may continue to attract financial support; other cities are left undeveloped and over time, civil struggles would become inevitable. Public goods like welfare and infrastructure should not be deemed as secondary objectives when juxtaposed against the objective of a thriving economy.

In conclusion, although cultural heritage contributes towards the economy through tourism, it would be too myopic to direct financial support based on this sole reason. Financial investments should be based on a rational analysis like estimating the return on investment. That being said, governments should be concerned with more than just financial returns; prolonged neglect of any region could cause civil struggles that defeat the nation's original purposes for prosperity in the long term.