Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Every country has its own cultural traditions, a very important heritage for each of its people who has responsibility to treasure. For a city, culture is its spirit, and traditional culture makes it distinctive from others——a signature of city's identity with glorious history, unique culture, awaking people to reminiscence, thought, exclamation, and inheritance, transmitting from one generation to another. For this reason, traditional culture, a kind of ancient, powerful, profound message, is highly valued in modern times, either government or public, a strong impetus to the regeneration and prosperity of a city.

Accompanied with the evolution of its culture, a city forms, develops, and expands, with its geographical landscape, customs, beliefs, recounting people its story vividly. St. Peter's Basilica in Rome is a typical Baroque architecture, the entire interior of which is richly ornamented with marble, reliefs, architectural sculpture and gilding, symbols of the sublime of the beautiful and mystery, and with majestic and magnificent exterior; Milan Cathedral in Italy is a representative Gothic architecture, decorated with pillars, flamboyant glass, flying buttress, and pointed arch, signifying an upward momentum and the spirit of Milan——all of them are the precious heritage of their country, worthy of people to visit, learn, research. But cultural traditions of a country have generated from all around the country, not just in major cities, but in rural areas, together with medium-small cities and towns, especially in the low urbanization of a country, in which the valuable culture traditions are necessary to be preserved.

Obviously, culture traditions have been playing an important role in the development and prosperity of major cities. Traditional culture of a city acts as a business card, such as Fashion City(Paris, France), Music City(Vienna Austria), Film Festival City(Cannes France), Porcelain Town(Jingdezhen, China), attracting millions of people from home and abroad to travel and engaged in business activity, creating economic benefits and promoting economic booming for these cities. Moreover, public places of traditional culture like natural museum, history museum, tea ceremony, floriculture, painting and calligraphy, offers people good relaxation and learning, and extremely enriches public life. On the one hand, some traditional culture like traditional Chinese painting and calligraphy has been incorporating residents' daily life and study——a kind of inheritance without governmental finance support but its encouragement and advocacy. On the other hand, some traditional culture like various museums requires funding either from government or other channels. In short, with the support of governmental policy and fund, traditional culture in major cities will become more and more prosperous, accordingly these cities' economy will be thriving.

Globalization requires traditional culture in a city to innovate in order to adapt to the change. Major cities in a country are always a big melting pot, in which people come from different areas at home and abroad with various cultural backgrounds, facing cultural conflicts to force these cities' culture to change to meet their needs. Often, diet culture is the characteristic. In major cities, there are a lot of varied restaurants supplying plentiful foods for people with different dietary habits. Lingua Franca usually substitutes local language, convenient for people to communicate. faced with this change, government should make to some degree adjustment both to preserve traditional culture but to gear to new requirements. Most importantly, innovation is very crucial for traditional culture in modern times. For instance, Errenzhuan, produced in rural areas of Northeast China, is rooted in such urban areas as Changchun, Shenyang, Harbin, now having been added with different elements from home and abroad and so disseminating the country and the world, which have not only handed down this traditional culture, but have increased cities' prosperity and public welfare.

In conclusion, national traditional culture generates and remains alive in all over the country, and with the support of the governments will continue to exert its power to contribute to the sustainability and prosperity of major cities.