Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim linking the development of a nation directly with its major cities is based on the reason rife with a proper basis. Thus, I condemn the above stated reason that a nation’s cultural traditions are solely preserved and generated in its major cities. A major part of traditions and cultures mostly hail from the countryside, villages and heritage towns.

When it comes to funding and providing financial support to the major cities of a country in order to preserve its cultures, this is purely an assumption based on a mere outlook of politicians that the traditions were also generated in the cities. For instance, the international tourism packages include many countryside towns as the natural flora and fauna of a nation are mostly found in the undeveloped towns and villages. Also the tourism industry, for example, like of a diverse country like India, focuses majorly on the underdeveloped areas of the country where the traditions and long lived cultures are purely preserved as they are inherited from generations to generations.

Firstly, a nation’s primary and creative occupations such as painting, agriculture, other such worldly professions are inherently taken up by individuals who have had an upbringing in a remote town or city. Also, when a consensus about declaring a nation as first, second or third world country is made, it takes into account the nation’s overall development and not only the major cities.

Secondly, a nation in order to thrive in all aspects of profession, education, tourism, and well being of families; has to focus on all corners of the country and thus financially supporting them. We can take for instance, the traditional dance forms of a nation are primarily determined by the preserved cultures of the natives of the country. Perhaps it is also mandatory for the major cities to thrive and develop at an extraordinary pace as for the technological and educational developments so as to compete well with the other countries in these fields (such as nuclear development). It is said that the future of a country lies in the hands of its young ones, although the up-bringing involves all kind of aspects including the cultural and traditional knowledge.

Hence, governments must ensure an equal financial support for the major cities as well as the small towns and the countryside in order to preserve the traditions and cultures of the nation.