Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The given reason is considerably apt for today’s world, but the claim that is made based on the given reason is not very cogent. Media was once considered to be the mediator between the happenings in different parts of world and us. It was intended to increase the transparency of the system so that people could be aware of what and how the things are happening all around them. It conveyed to us the most remote and distant news of the wars, the inaccessible news about politicians, the recent technology, inventions and discoveries, about the heroism and humanity of various people. Most importantly, media was supposed to be neutral, which is not true today.

Today also, media with its web all around provides us with the latest news and affairs of the world but with an amoral tinch. As the adage goes- “good and bad are relative terms. Neither exist without the other”. Every person is both good and bad. Nonetheless, today we have reached a stage where people have their vicious and greedy side more dominant to their moral ones. In such corruption full and satanic world if a person tries to do something good and human, he or she should be regarded as a hero. In fact, the media does praise it. It will evoke inspiration in many to do the same by showing them the beauty of work he or she has done and praising all the way from top to bottom. Just wait for few days. When everyone is in complete awe with his or her work, the media starts pointing the few not so good things he has done in his life, even if those mishappenings were about ten years ago. So the only thing that is changed is the definition of transparency of media.

But for a society, it should be realized by now that everything that media shows should not shape the way we think. People can be far more better or far more worse than portrayed by media. Regarding a person and considering him or her as a hero is a personal choice. Recently, in India, there was this huge wave of change to change the way government worked. Arvind Kejriwal, a not so senile politician stood up for the people for 49 days to show us that the ways in which government worked all these years can be changed. He got a huge support from the people, especially youth. When he resigned from the post of Chief Minister of New Delhi, the media didn’t wait to disrespect him or his views and abased him in front of whole country calling him a coward and a person who could not stand upto his words. Many people believed the media, but many still consider him as their hero and a hope for change.

So, true it is that media is no longer unbiased, but regarding a person as a hero despite of what media shows is a personal choice.