Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim indicates that it is hard for any society to regard any living man or woman as a hero, as anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will lose his or her reputation gradually. I fully disagree with such a claim, as people who maintain high moral standards and contribute greatly to the society still can be heroes in modern society.

Admittedly, modern media play a vital role in diminishing celebrities’ reputation if they do the wrong things, such as committing crimes and behaving abnormally in public. With the prosperity of internet industry in the past several decades, social and traditional media are able to disseminate(expand) the negative news of public figures in seconds across the world. For example, Donald Trump, the republican president nominee for the United States in 2016, was accused of sexual assault to several women several years ago. Such a news has been widely spread and certainly affected the supporting rate for him. Under this circumstances, not only the reputation of Trump is decreasing but also he is losing the chance to be the president of United States. Therefore, when public figures do not maintain their moral obligations, a closer scrutiny from the media could destroy the reputation he or she accumulates for years.

However, as long as public heroes behave properly in front of the public and do the right things, they should not be afraid of the media scrutiny. For example, Yao Ming, the most famous Chinese basketball player, has always had a good reputation throughout his career. What he left to the public and media was a man who devoted himself to basketball and tried his best to promote the development of basketball in China. Therefore, we can hardly see any negative news about him on the media.

In addition, heroes may not always be celebrities like Donald Trump and Yao Ming. As we all know, many ordinary people in our society are heroes in their communities or schools. These people may attract the attention from the media for their heroic behaviours like saving people who are drowning, catching thieves, etc. After that, media will continue their focus on big news, such as scandals of political leaders, disasters over the world, etc, instead of ordinary people. Therefore, their reputation is increased through media rather than being diminished by it.

In sum, whether a close scrutiny from the media will affect one’s reputation depends on his or her own behaviours. If people behave improperly, the media will certainly broadcast it to undermine their reputation, as such news can attract more viewers and these media can make a profit from it.