Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim that no men or women can be regarded as a living legend by the society because once they are under the media their reputation diminishes seems extreme.

Unfortunately, we live in a world where facts are misconstrued and the information is presented in a cryptic form to the common public open to interpretation rather than straight simple truth.

While that may be true, one should not forget that media was responsible for creating awareness among people about various protests and events, uniting them and becoming their voice. The rise of Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, and Nelson Mandela happened because media decided to help them disseminate their message in every nook and corner of the country.

It did what a single Man cannot achieve independently. Media has constantly given a helping hand to great leaders for their propagandas.

Let us take the example of the Osama Bin Laden's assassination. Even though the President of the United States were to address the people about the news, various network channels across America worked hard to telecast it only for the joy of giving the news to people a minute sooner. This made all those men who were involved in the operation great heroes. Without Media, great stories of War, bravery, bloodshed would have never seen the light of the day.

Aun Sang Su Kyi of Myanmar is a living hero who fought bravely even under house arrest because the media was ready to publish her story make it alive. This has inspired millions of people who decided to join her struggle later.

The great Indian freedom struggle led by Mahathma Gandhi got immense support from newspaper dailies during the 1920s and 30s which awakened the entire nation and made a common man from Gujarat the father of the nation. In the present day scenario, while there are many cases of media shaming high profile people publicly, there equally or more number of incidents where a common man helping the society is made a hero. For instance, the recent floods incident in a city called Chennai in the southern part of India discovered great heroes who volunteered and helped the public with their difficulties. Stories of such humanitarian services were covered by Indian media which inspired millions of youth in the country.

Media is an unbiased entity and it's sole purpose is to provide information to public about the current affairs. History has proven to us that the voice of a common man can overthrow a dynasty in a single day which was possible because of media. It has always been a right hand to the public helping them and supporting them in their arduous endeavors.

In this contemporary world, we see a lot of celebrities and other leaders who are ruthlessly scrutinized by media and are publicly humiliated. There is no denial that many of such incidents were done for the sole purpose of tarnishing someone’s reputation but there are also incidents were such harsh scrutiny revealed bigger truths and brought justice. One should always remember that there are many more incidents where it served as a good friend for the public and uplifted many movements and societies and ultimately helped in the progress of the nation.