Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays, there is a controversial issue about what the surest indicator of a great nation should be. Depending on the personal experiences and beliefs, some people may claim that the greatest nation lies heavily in its rules, artists, and scientists by virtue of their contribution to the country, which will ensure a good life for the majority of the nation's people. As far as I am concerned, while it may be well to premise the statement in the first glance, I do not want to maintain that the great achievement by a nation's rulers, artists and scientists is the only indicator of a great nation. In addition, there is always other factor such as the well-being of people.

In the first place, I have to admit that the great achievement and effectiveness of the nation's ruler definitely have a significant impact on the development of the nation. A effective leader's accomplishment can be examined by his citizens because they are always in accordance with each other. For example, after the economic crisis in America, it is president R that led his people towards rejuvenating the economic situation. It is undeniable accomplishment, the New Deal, benefits numerous American people to help them get back confidence for life. Thus, we can proclaim that the rulers effectiveness can unsure the people's good life.

Another compelling argument for the author's argument is that the contribution that artists and scientists strive for also comes up with an influential nation. That is to say, without the effort from artists and scientist, there is no possibility that the inner beauty of the country will be explored and the potentially multiple competence will be developed. For example, it is the famous Chinese author Mo Yan’s achievement on winning the Nobel Prize that not only spreads the Chinese culture to the world, but also tempts people to read more books and cultivate the interest of reading of many Chinese people. Such example can also be easily applied to the scientific field. Thus, the artist and scientist's effort to the nation also should be given emphasis as indicator of a great nation.

However, by stating that the great nation can be ascribed to the profound contribution by rules, artists and scientists does not mean that the good life of people can be ensured only by their struggling. In other words, the claim that the surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists does not always hold true. From my point of view, we cannot ignore that the well-being of people is playing an increasingly indispensable role in measuring the greatness of the nation. According to what president Lincoln has said --- of the people, with the people, for the people, we can see that the well-being of citizen has become an indispensable and significant indicator of a great nation.

To sum up, given the reason above, we may safely draw a conclusion that the great achievement by a nation's rules , artists, and scientist will ensure a good life of people from both the economic competence and the cultural side. However, crucial though aforementioned factors are, we cannot ignore the increasingly important effect of the well-being of the people on the measurement of a great nation.